Posted in FFfAW, Flash Fiction, Short Story

A Letter of Gratitude

Piano by Mike Vore
Photo by Mike Vore

Dear Piano,

When we first met, I was five and had no idea what music was. I thought those musical notes were bean sprouts (and they still look like one to me now).

I’m sorry if I had hammered you too hard. But I was too young to know how to control my strength. And you know, practicing spider finger was hard. If I didn’t do well, Teacher Nicole would place real spiders on my hands. That was freaking scary!

Nonetheless, you shouldered my burden, my willfulness and my temper. You didn’t grumble, just obliged.

When I was broken hearted, I vented my frustrations on you. Yet, you stood firm, comforting me with Johann Pachelbel’s Canon in D.

When I married, you sang me the Wedding March.

When my firstborn cried, you soothed her with Johannes Brahms’ Lullaby.

You are always here for me.

And I want to say: Thank you my Best Friend Forever.

Love,
You-wish-I-never-existed Friend

 

© 2017 Fun Simplicity @ Simply Me. All Rights Reserved.

(158 words)

Written for FFfAW Challenge #105, hosted by Priceless Joy and photo provided by Mike Vore. Thank you.

20 thoughts on “A Letter of Gratitude

  1. awwww. this is both delightful and touching dear Funsie. This line cracked me up: “I thought those musical notes were bean sprouts (and they still look like one to me now).” But the following lines about the memories you shared with it touch the heart. Love this! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you...

