Posted in FFfAW, Flash Fiction, Short Story

Regret

photo provided by Sunayana with MoiPensieve

Once, I was one of them. Riding my bike with my buddies, roaming around the town, searching for ghosts. We, the ghost busters, vowed to protect the people from the evil spirits that sucked the souls of the living.

One day, we received a tip-off on the whereabouts of the Master. We devised a foolproof plan to get rid of him.

Before we set off, my wife pleaded with me to abort the plan.

“He’s more powerful than those you’d slain. Don’t risk your life. Our unborn child needs a father,” she cried.

“I’ll be back. I promise.”

I turned and left with my buddies. That was the last I saw of her.

We failed our mission to slay the Master spirit.

As a result, we were turned into soul-sucking spirits. The Master threatened to harm our family members if we didn’t bring him the souls of the living.

We had no choice but to oblige.

“Time’s up! All pens down,” the teacher shouted.

Phew! Finally managed to complete my composition on time.

(175 words)

Β© 2017 Fun Simplicity @ Simply Me. All Rights Reserved.

Written for FFfAW Challenge 102, hosted by Priceless Joy. Thank you PJ for hosting this challenge weekly without fail, and thanks to Sunayana with MoiPensieve for providing the photo for this week’s challenge.

I’m having hair treatment at the salon now. Since I’ll be stuck to the seat for 30 mins or more, I might as well write a story. πŸ˜€ Hope you’ll enjoy the story.

58 thoughts on “Regret

  1. oh i was soooo hooked and then the revelation!!! woah. Love this!!!

    P.S. Funsieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!! ❀ ❀ ❀ nice to read you again!!! ❀ ❀ ❀ missss youuuu!i am swamped. 😦 with work. ::(

    Liked by 2 people

      1. My mom is still undergoing checks prior to the operation; my granny’s recovery is slow due to old age. I’m trying not to think too much. Cos if I get too anxious, anxiety attack will kick in. I landed in hospital in January due to that. But was discharged the next day. Phew!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. A perfectly produced write A+ for effort , imagination, content and punctuation as Michael1148humphris also pointed out. Nicely twisted I’d say, My memories of the metronome click clacking as the time on the clock passed make my skin clammy and my hairline damp…except in English where iI could rely on imagination and not the power of my memory. Well done.πŸ˜‡

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you...

