Posted in FFfAW, Flash Fiction, Short Story

FFFAW #67: Life

Here’s little Bob cuddled in my arms… his peaceful sleep made me grateful for his existence.

There… little Bob was taking his first step… he fell, cried, but he stood up and walked again. He taught me the most important lesson in life.

It was his first day in school… I was overwhelmed with joy. My little Bob was growing up well.

Was that Bob? Of course it was! He bought his first car, and was driving us for dinner. We were proud parents.

Oh mind! He came home with his girlfriend, and they announced that they would be getting married soon. Life is full of happenings.

Do you like the word grand? Oh… I love it… especially when Bob Junior cried for grandma, and hugged me as if I was his precious.

Today, I lay here… admiring the beautiful ceiling of this church… listening to the eulogies… and watching my life unfolds once again before me.

I… am… contented…

(160 words)

Β© 2016 Fun Simplicity @ Simply Me. All Rights Reserved.

fffaw67
Photo: by TJ Paris

Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers Challenge #67.

Thank you Priceless Joy for hosting this challenge, and thanks to TJ for supplying the photo.


Hello my dear friends! I miss you all! I’m so glad to be back.

Have a great week! love-smiley

72 thoughts on “FFFAW #67: Life

      1. My laptop died. Needed some time to get it fixed, though it’s still not fully fixed as it just died on me while I was typing the comment on your post half way… LOL! πŸ˜€ So I can only use my phone to reply. Haha πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  1. It’s so good to see you again! WELCOME BACK! I missed you Funsie! This story incorporated the whole life of this woman and the ending, although sad, was very sweet. I think she went out of this life in peace. Great story! WELCOME BACK!! YAY!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, my dear Annie, I miss you much too, and thank you! ❀️❀️❀️ Am looking forward to the school holiday. How’s your work? Hope it’s not taking too many of your nights away.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Work is same old, same old ☺ there have been ups and downs. It looks like I will be burning the midnight oil tonight… Right after this πŸ˜‰ Miss you too, so much, my dear Fun. Holiday plans lined up already? ❀️❀️

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m always envious of those who can burn midnight oil. I tried once (and the last) while I was schooling, and my mind totally blanked out the next day. LOL! πŸ˜‚
        Going for short staycation during the holiday, as usual, free from housework for few days… Yippee! πŸ˜„β€οΈ

        Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s an interesting view in the end, a dead Grandma and Mother, picturing her most cherished moments in life. They all involved Bob and then Bob JR so being a mother must have been what she valued and wanted most in life. But your hesitation as she says: “I’m content” at the end makes me wonder, did she finally see what she missed outside of her children and being a mother? Nice job!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Mandi. πŸ™‚ You’ve read my mind! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ My intention was to project her as a mother whose life revolved around her son till she had no life of her own. Not a single image of how she had enjoyed her life, eg having tea with friends. She’s too late to realise that she had forgotten her SELF.

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you...

