Posted in Flash Fiction, Short Story

The Hourglass (Part 2)

This is an inspiration that sparked off from Maria’s story, The Hourglass.


“Ligaya, are you sure you want to marry him?”

“I am very certain, dad.”

“Even in the expense of giving up your fairyhood? And… dying as a human?”

Ligaya nodded.

Her dad sighed. “Fine… but… take this hourglass…”

“NO! I can’t! It’s… your 500 years of power, dad!”

“Anything for you, my love. Life isn’t worth living if I have to see my only daughter dying before my eyes.”

Tears streamed down her cheeks. She hugged her father one last time before swallowing the pill that would change her into a human.

***

“Remembered your favourite hourglass? I tilted it.”

Confused, he asked why.

“To slow my time down.”

Then Ligaya gave him her sweetest smile.

He gazed at her with amazement. Watching very part of her glowed.

“What… what just happened?”

Transforming back into a fairy, Ligaya replied, “Your favourite hourglass contained my father’s power. When tilted, I would change back into a fairy.”

“What about your father?”

With tears wetting her cheeks, she smiled and answered, “He’s waiting for me in fairyland. Now, I must leave. Farewell, my love.”

 

Β© 2016 Fun Simplicity @ Simply Me. All Rights Reserved.


Hope I didn’t disappoint you, Maria. πŸ™‚

29 thoughts on “The Hourglass (Part 2)

  1. Oh my… wow! Just wow, Fun. I love it. You really did it now. 😍 😍 😍 The transition of the story is very smoothly done, too. I almost teared up when her father gave up 500 years of his life, that is so sweet. And her love for Bill is so strong that she would give up being immortal just to be with him. YAY! You gave my almost-tragic love story a new life.. ❀ You never disappoint, Fun! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh WOW, Fun! Look what you did!!!! This is just enchanting, mystifying and a bit saddening! I almost tear up with this line: β€œAnything for you, my love. Life isn’t worth living if I have to see my only daughter dying before my eyes.”

    Uhhhhh… I cannot! This is just awesome!! ❀ ❀ ❀

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you...

