Posted in Flash Fiction, Short Story, Sunday Photo Fiction

SPF: The secret

Photo by: A Mixed Bag
Photo by: A Mixed Bag

“Are you sure we won’t get into trouble… trespassing Grace Chapel in the middle of the night?”

“Leave… If you are scare!”

“I’m not! But what you claimed is ridiculous!”

“Ssh! We’re almost there… There’s no turning back… Come on, we need to climb this stairs… Stay close!” James whispered.

The boys made their way to the attic.

James push opened the door. The room was dark. He shone his torch around.

“See! There are only cobwebs!” Jonathan said, tagging along behind James.

James made his way towards the wardrobe at the end of the room. As he opened the wardrobe, his eyes widen.

“There’s really a bag in here!”Jonathan whispered.

“Here! Hold it!” James passed the torch to Jonathan, and slowly unzipped the bag.

Grinning, he turned to Jonathan. “Look!”

Jonathan peeped into the bag, startled and fell backwards, dropping the torch.

“H…h…how did you know… that… that… there’s skeleton in the bag?”

“Remember the story I told you yesterday? I saw them killing the man and hid the corpse in here.”

“But… you said it happened FIFTY years ago!!! Now you are only TWELVE!!!”

James just grinned.

(191 words)

Β© 2016 Fun Simplicity @ Simply Me. All Rights Reserved.


Written for Sunday Photo Fiction hosted by Alastair Forbes. Thank you, Alastair.

72 thoughts on “SPF: The secret

    1. Hee Hee… I wondered too! The story decided to have a different ending from what I’d planned. ☺️ Thanks, Mandi. Those ancient churches always give me the creep. I had tones of nightmares relating to them, like vampire, etc. πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lol. That’s awful for a Church to give you nightmares. I haven’t been in the extremely old ones in Europe but I have been in a few in Quebec in Quebec City and around Montreal. I usually find them pretty peaceful, but I wouldn’t want to be alone in one either πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. My old school had an old Anglican Church right next to it. There were many bats hanging at the roof of the church. My aunt, who were also from that school, told me many vampires stories (most probably she made it up πŸ˜€ ). But I was too young to tell whether it’s real or myth. LOL! I guess that’s where it all begin! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Ooh, scary! I like that you make Jonathan sound legitimately scared, like any normal person would be in that situation. That’s more realistic to me than these “super cool” characters who somehow aren’t bothered by skeletons even though they’re just regular people (or in this case, just a kid).

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh! It’s secretary said will get back to me once my right brain is back! 😱Oh my goodness! My brain is on holiday! That explains why my screw is loose! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Like

I'd love to hear from you...

