Posted in FFfAW, Flash Fiction, Short Story

FFfAW #50: Sunflowers

fffaw#50
Photo by: Sonya @ Only 100 Words

“Sammie, why do you always smile at the sunflower outside our house?” Mabel asked.

“Well… it brightens my day!”

“Sunflowers are everywhere! What’s so special about this one?”

“It’s a secret.”

***

In the middle of the night, Sammie approached the sunflowers.

“Hello, my friends!”

One by one, the sunflowers turned into fairies.

“Sammie!” the fairies echoed.

“I miss you!” said Joy, the youngest fairy.

“But I smile at you everyday!”

“That’s not enough! When are you coming back?”

“Stop pestering her, Joy! Her days as human are numbered.”

“Thanks for the reminder, Pixey. Once Mabel’s parents reconcile, I’ll be back.”

“You only think of Mabel.” Joy pouted.

“If it wasn’t for Mabel, we would have been destroyed. I have to repay her kindness.”

“Go! Sammie! Mabel needs you. I’ll handle this brat!” Pixey winked.

(134 words)

Β© 2016 Fun Simplicity @ Simply Me. All Rights Reserved.


Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, Challenge #50.

Thank you Priceless Joy for hosting the weekly challenge, and thanks to Sonya for providing the photo.

Rules:

  • a flash fiction challenge (stories in 100-175 words or less)
  • each story should have a beginning, a middle, and an end
  • no serial (continuation) stories
  • include a pingback to the challenge post

FFfAW

86 thoughts on “FFfAW #50: Sunflowers

  1. Oh wow! What a magical piece that surely made my day! Your imagination is surely limitless, Fun! πŸ˜€

    P.S.
    I scheduled my response and it will be posted tomorrow… and we have same title? πŸ˜€ HAHA

    Great job, Fun! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I went to the Verizon store to have them help me get it activated and I have been watching UTube videos on how to use it. The Utube videos are helpful but they don’t tell you how to use the phone part or texting part. I have had to try and figure that out on my own. Sadly, I needed to learn the phone part fast because my landline is on the fritz. The phone company won’t send a repairman until I try a new phone. But my WIFI modem and ADT is hooked up to my phone and the hookups won’t work with other phones. It has been a nightmare.

        Like

      2. Just sent the kiddos to board the bus. Heading back to bed again. Don’t know why I’m so tired. See you later. Really sorry about yesterday. Didn’t expect me to fall asleep so soon. ☺️

        Like

  2. Awwee… It really is one of the cutest magical story. πŸ˜€ I hope Mabel’s parents reconcile soon. It’s good to know she’s got a great friend by her side during these times. Nicely done, Fun! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it’s good to have someone to lean on during tough times. πŸ™‚ Thanks for your kind read and comment, Maria πŸ™‚ Hope this will brightened your mood. (ps: I read your comment at Rosema’s post about the sad stories you read.)

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you...

