Posted in FFftPP, Flash Fiction, Short Story

FFftPP: An unexpected cave

shoes

Enough is enough.” Sue walked away in the middle of the camp fire, and into the woods. She could not understand why ghost-story telling was a must in camp fires. She dreaded listening to those spooky tales that sent chills down her spine.

She wandered further into the woods.

There’s a cave in the middle of the forest?! Turning her torch to the brightest, she made her way in. Suddenly, she came to a halt. There are stairs! Should I go up or down?

She took a coin and tossed it in the air. Head! So I shall go down.

Just as she was about to take her first step down, she heard groans coming from the other side of the stairs.

“Hello? Is there anyone there?”

There was no answer. She made her way up the stairs.

Then she saw a man in a police uniform, lying on the stairs groaning and bleeding.

She searched her pockets, only to realised that she had left her phone in the tent.

“I’ll go get help! I’ll be right back!”

She ran down the stairs, but stopped midway. That uniform looks like it was from the 60’s!

She turned around.

He was gone.

(200 words)

© 2016 Fun Simplicity @ Simply Me. All Rights Reserved.


An Unusual Discovery is a continuation of this story.

Written for Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner, hosted by Roger Ship. Thank you, Roger.

The opening sentence for week 4:  “Enough is enough.”

44 thoughts on “FFftPP: An unexpected cave

  1. Very interesting and suspenseful l. I want to know what’s next. This piece gives me the feeling of one of those choose your own adventure books, where you decide what the main character does and that decides which page you turn to next. Great job.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m not too sure. I read them in the young adult section when I was a teenager. They frustrated me cause whatever way I decided to go my character died lol. Young Indiana Jones was a main character I remember. You’re welcome.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. So many levels… first the coin toss to make a decision…then the fear of the noises…. then the need to seek help…. then a disappearance from someone who was NOT supposed to be there! Loved the levels of suspense. Thanks for participating this week. Hope to see you in Week #5.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you...

