Posted in Flash Fiction, Friday Fictioneers, Short Story

Friday Fictioneers: Back to dust

hh-spinet
PHOTO PROMPT Β© Jan W. Fields

I stood firmly at the corner of the hall for decades. People came, people left. They couldn’t resist laying their fingers on me.

Some played me so beautifully that the crowd applauded and cheered loudly, though none of the cheers were for me.

Some hammered me so hard till I thought I was falling apart. They… almost broke my heart.

Those were the good old days… in my memory, they would stay.

Ashes to ashes, dust to dust. For today, I will leave this hall, in fire… I will fall.

(90 words)

Β© 2016 Fun Simplicity @ Simply Me. All Rights Reserved.


Written for Friday Fictioneers. Thank you, Rochelle, for hosting this challenge.

53 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Back to dust

  1. This reminds me of a lecture I listened to about Beethoven–he was so hard on the pianos of his day that strings broke while he played and someone had to wrench them out of the way as he plowed on! It’s a lovely piece you wrote with a poignant ending. The personification, as Yinglan said, was perfectly done! πŸ™‚ A well crafted short piece! I admire you that you can pack so much into so few words πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful story, great POV. And then the ghost of the piano, and that of the lute hang around and watch the rock musicians set their guitars on fire… and are secretly relieved they lived in the past. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you...

