Posted in JusJoJan

Just Jot It January 7th

I shall not follow today’s prompt: robust. In fact, I’m writing this with a heavy heart. I heard from a friend this morning that Jay’s mother had succumbed to her illness during the New Year.

While everyone was having a great time celebrating the New Year, they… were mourning in sadness.

Eight-year-old Jay is my daughter’s friend and bus mate. He boards the school bus with her every morning. I was surprised for not seeing him for the first few days of school. I thought he had moved house. Little did I know that the funeral, which I had walked passed for the last couple of days, was his mother’s.

Although I’m not close to him or his family, hearing such news is saddening. I was told that before she left, she had purchased all his school books and made all the necessary arrangements so that life would go on as normal for him (but we all know that life will never be the same without a mother 😦 ). Upon hearing that, my eyes welled up with tears. I wish I could give him a hug and comfort him. Thinking of how this little boy grows up without his mother is just… heartbreaking.

He will not be able to celebrate his birthday with her any more; nor share with her about his exciting school trip, or about the girl he fancy, or how he plans to have a soccer team of children. He can only look at the sky and say… “I wish… you were here.”

jjj-2016Note: Jay is not his real name.

81 thoughts on “Just Jot It January 7th

  1. I can feel the pain in your words. I don’t know who jay is and don’t know about his mother but what I know is mothers are precious. World is a strange place. Happiness and joy go side by side. May God give jay strength to bear this loss.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. This is so sad…it’s tough enough to lose a parent when we are adults as we can rationalize death a little easier…however, I cannot imagine how tough it is to lose one when we are children… thank you for posting… will say a prayer for all children who lost their mother’s this year…

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha! Yes, thanks to me. Now when other people put that on their comments you will know what it means. It’s signs of affection. Almost like saying, Affectionately Yours, Yours Truly, Love, ect.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, okay. I think I have used it for one post so I don’t know if it is easy or hard to use. I have used Blogsy ever since I first started blogging (except for that one time).

        Like

      3. I drank it when I was young. I had severe insomnia so my dad let me try. It helped initially but my body kind of immune to it. I wouldn’t sleep even if I drank half bottle. So he gave up! LOL! πŸ˜‚

        Like

      4. Yes, it is safe for long term. That’s strange that coffee helps you sleep because usually coffee keeps one awake! Especially strong coffee! Your body processes it as a sleep aid – that’s good!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I just looked up what does xoxo mean? And this is what the internet said:
        Hugs and kisses or xoxo is a term used for expressing sincerity, faith, love, or good friendship at the end of a written letter, email or SMS text message.

        Like

I'd love to hear from you...

