Posted in FFfAW, Flash Fiction, Short Story

FFfAW #47: The Creepy Lab

fffaw#47
Photo: pixabay.com

I hate coming to this lab. It makes my flesh creep. However, I had left my notes in the lab yesterday when I left in a hurry. So now I’m here to retrieve it.

There is a skeleton standing at the corner of the lab. It looks like it’s always smiling at me. I often hear weird sound coming from it. There must be a spirit living in it! Now I’m all alone with it.

I quickly retrieve my notes, and head for the exit. Just as I place my hand on the door handle, someone tap my shoulder. Oh no! The skeleton is alive! I knew it! I scream, turn around, and start to kick and punch whatever is in front of me.

“STOP! You are hurting me!”

That sounds familiar! I open my eyes and am stunned.

“Jacob?! I didn’t see you come in.”

“I came before you. I dropped my pen and was searching under the benches when I saw you leaving -”

“so you tap my shoulder?”

“Yup!”

“Oops! Sorry!”

(173 words)

Β© 2016 Fun Simplicity @ Simply Me. All Rights Reserved.


Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, Challenge #47.

Thank you Priceless Joy for hosting the weekly challenge.

Rules:

  • a flash fiction challenge (stories in 100-175 words or less)
  • each story should have a beginning, a middle, and an end
  • no serial (continuation) stories
  • include a pingback to the challenge post

FFfAW

49 thoughts on “FFfAW #47: The Creepy Lab

  1. If I was in the room and thinking I was alone …except for the skeleton, I would be freaked out too if I got a tap on the shoulder! She was embarrassed when she found out it was only Jacob, but I’m sure…relieved that it wasn’t the skeleton! Great take on the prompt! πŸ™‚

    Like

I'd love to hear from you...

