Posted in FFfAW, Flash Fiction, Short Story

FFfAW #44: Treasure

fffaw#44

They said that he was gone, but I could still feel his presence.

They said it was beyond repair, but I got it fixed… with a hefty price.

They said I was stupid to hold on to a dead man’s trash, but it is treasure to me… a treasure of memories we once shared riding together on this bicycle.

They said I was insane, but I was more sound than ever.

Just because I didn’t style my hair, or put on makeup, or dress the latest fashion, doesn’t make me a crazy girl! I have more important things to do! I wasn’t running around doing nothing! I was tracing back the path where we walked hand in hand; the road where we cycled side by side; the garden where we first met; the beach where he proposed; every where… that we had been before… together. I just want to recall them all, so that I can write them down in my diary and remember forever.

I shouldn’t have taken him for granted.

(171 words)

Β© 2015 Fun Simplicity @ Simply Me. All Rights Reserved.


Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, Challenge #44. I’ve written a short poem on this story, which you can find here.

Thank you Priceless Joy for hosting this weekly challenge. This week’s photo is from pixabay.com.

Rules:

  • a flash fiction challenge (stories in 100-175 words or less)
  • each story should have a beginning, a middle, and an end
  • no serial (continuation) stories
  • include a pingback to the challenge post

FFfAW

 

42 thoughts on “FFfAW #44: Treasure

  1. A deep sadness here. But also a happiness in the wonderful memories they shared before he died. I’m happy the bike is fixable and she can trace those memories. She may have taken him for granted but she never will again. Great take on the prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well written and very intense, although for me it came across more ambiguous, I think (which I mean as a compliment!). She protests a little too much about what “they” say, and about not being crazy. And going over and over the past, trying to relive every tiny little detail of their life together? So you see her perspective but at the same time, “they” might have a point… Poor girl.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have a point! From “their” perspective, she’s doing useless thing and behaving like a crazy woman, which she denied. Perhaps, she’s in a self denial phase. What’s gone is gone. Thanks for your read and comment, Joy πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A beautifully sad story. You capture her pain at his loss really well. At least she still has her memories of him to keep her going. Hopefully she’ll be able to move on and reconnect with the rest of the world eventually. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A lot of deep feelings in this story. It’s sad that she now realizes the things she should have done….often times that is the case, and one must make amends the best way they can and what she is doing is what she feels is needed and what she wants to accomplish. Every person has to deal with this type of thing their own way. We all make mistakes and fail to do some very important things in life thinking there is lots of time to take care of it , or perhaps inadvertently let it happen. Enjoyed your story. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you...

