Posted in Flash Fiction, Short Story, Writing Challenge

The Christmas Fairies (Part 1)

fairy-christmas-ball1

It’s that time of the year again! It’s time to get busy again, at Santa’s Factory. We’ve prepared for eleven months so now we are on our way to bring Christmas cheers to all! I’ve been promoted to a senior, and this Christmas, I have a new fairy to train. Training new fairies may be tiresome but fun. The young ones are always so full of innovative ideas, except for… some… like Phoebe!

*****

“Are you ready for your first assignment, Phoebe?”

“I’m thrilled!”

“Great! Let’s go! We have to deliver all these presents to the children.”

“Huh? Isn’t Santa the one delivering the presents?”

“Santa?! You believe in Santa?”

“Of course!”

“Didn’t the interviewer told you about your job scope?”

Phoebe shook her head.

Not another one being tricked! I must feedback to the management to change the interviewer.

“Santa is an image we created. We are too tiny for our human friends. Thus, we created an image big enough for them. It’s just an hologram!”

Shocked, Phoebe’s face turned pale.

Before I could say another word, she turned and flew away.

*****

Now I have to deliver all the presents by myself. It’s hard work, but the joy of seeing the smiles on their faces is priceless. πŸ™‚


Β© 2015 Fun Simplicity. All Rights Reserved.

Written for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, Tale Weaver #43 – Fairy Tale Prompt

Click here for Part 2.

35 thoughts on “The Christmas Fairies (Part 1)

    1. Would you like to join me?
      Prerequisites:
      1) good stamina – ability to fly long distance
      2) passion
      3) no other experience required
      πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Like

      1. Something like this:
        – able to get along with other fairies
        – willing to go down chimneys to deliver the toys
        – has plenty of fairy dust to help make children sleepy.
        – can work under stress
        – ???

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I shall request the management to hire you as the next interviewer. Way to go, Fairy PJ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        Like

  1. I was on my way to read Sleep when I was struck by the Christmas Fairy photo and I love all things Fairylike! So Phoebe is apparently not up to the task, good thing you are! And yes you definitely need to have a word with the interviewer and management…happy delivering!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. What a wildly, beautiful, clever, creative imagination you have!! I love this, thank you for fixing the broken cookies and teaching me the ropes. I love being a fairy it’s so rewarding!! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I care that you care about Christmas and adding your tale this week’s Tale Weaver/Fairy Tale, enjoyed your take very much and I feel a little sad for Phoebe and ll the work in front of her……Merry Christmas to you…

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you...

