Posted in FFfAW, Flash Fiction, Short Story, Writing Challenge

FFfAW #43: A familiar street

fffaw#43
Photo by: Louise of The Storyteller’s Abode

This is a familiar place. I knew I had come here before… not once… but numerous times. I had walked down this street with someone. But I just could not remember who that was. I asked the people working in the restaurant, I asked the people in the street. No one had seen me before, nor knew me. But I have a feeling… a very strong one… that I have to wait for that someone here… right in this street.

Oh no! Here come the nurses. They are coming for me. They said I am sick, but I’m not! Why did they keep saying that my son wants me to stay in that home when I’m not even married?

“Poor lady, she becomes like this ever since her husband passed away.”

I heard the senior nurse said to the new nurse.

Husband? What husband? Who is my husband? Who is my son? Where am I? Who… am I?

(157 words)

Β© 2015 Fun Simplicity. All Rights Reserved.


Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, Challenge #43.

Thank you Priceless Joy for hosting the weekly challenge, and Louise for supplying the photo.

Rules:

  • a flash fiction challenge (stories in 100-175 words or less)
  • each story should have a beginning, a middle, and an end
  • no serial (continuation) stories
  • include a pingback to the challenge post

FFfAW

41 thoughts on “FFfAW #43: A familiar street

  1. This is so intense because there is so much truth in it. I have a friend that has Alzeheimers and after her husband died she began getting worse. Finally her daughter had to put her in assisted living residency. Your story reminds me so much of her and her story. Great story!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Poor lady. 😦 And I feel for her son, as well – it must be horrible to have a parent look at you and not know you. I wonder whether that street is the place where she met her husband… Great story. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How sad. At first I thought maybe it was a ghost (ever the optimist) then as the story unfolded I realized it was someone who lost their memory – then figured out it must be Alzheimers. My Father-in-law had it. Very tragic for the person and the caregivers. You told the story nicely.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you...

