Posted in FFfAW, Flash Fiction, Short Story, Writing Challenge

Life of a butterfly

fffaw#36
Photo by: TJ Paris

I am beautiful. I am harmless. Yet people still want to catch me. My family, my relatives and friends were caught. Some are placed in jars for observation, some are exhibited in the museum. The humans’ motive is beyond my comprehension.

Do we look scary? We didn’t fly near the humans on purpose. They came to our garden, they came to our home. Was it wrong to fly in our own home? We didn’t attack anyone, nor hurt anyone. All we did was fly away. Yet they came with nets, and attacked us.

I am the only survivor. I couldn’t return home as it is no longer my home. Now I wander in the wild, wondering where my destiny leads me. I am just a simple butterfly.

(127 words)

Β© 2015 Fun Simplicity. All Rights Reserved.


Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, Challenge #36.

Thank you Priceless Joy for hosting the weekly challenge, and TJ Paris for supplying the photo.

Rules:

  • a flash fiction challenge (stories in 100-175 words or less)
  • each story should have a beginning, a middle, and an end
  • no serial (continuation) stories
  • include a pingback to the challenge post

FFfAW

 

39 thoughts on “Life of a butterfly

I'd love to hear from you...

