Posted in Poetry Corner, Writing 201

My dearest granny, is as sweet as honey

granny

Despite your weak, brittle bones,

you travel far, all alone.

Up and down the steps you climb,

hoping to catch the bus on time.

 

Carrying your food of love

to your favourite grand-daughter,

is something you love to do

despite crossing numerous avenues.

 

Your love is deeper than the deepest ocean,

you don’t wait for special occasion

to show your unconditional love

to your little girl.

 

You love to see the contentment on my face,

whenever I finished your delicious cuisine.

I can’t wait to hug you and say, ‘Thanks!’

Your candylicious smile is the sweetest I’ve ever seen.

 

Oh Granny, Thank You for loving me.

Your love is the greatest gift I’ve ever received.

My dearest Granny, I just want to tell you

That I love you too!


© 2015 Fun Simplicity. All Rights Reserved.

In response to Writing 201, Day 5: Map, Ode, Metaphor

Day 5: Map, Ode, Metaphor

Whether you choose to write about an actual map, an imaginary one, or just about a particular route that means something special to you, make today’s poem about a space you inhabit (or wish to. Or would rather avoid).

Today’s word prompt, Map, invites you to reflect on space and distance, while our form-of-the-day, Ode, and daily device, the venerable Metaphor, will add depth to any poet’s repertoire.

7 thoughts on “My dearest granny, is as sweet as honey

I'd love to hear from you...

