Posted in Poetry Corner, Writing 201

My Life, My Screen

destiny-of-life
Source: drropra.com

Brilliant light you shine.

The truth I can never find.

Destiny of life.


© 2015 Fun Simplicity. All Rights Reserved.

Writing 201, Day 1: Screen, Haiku, Alliteration

There’s a 100% chance that you’re currently looking at the comforting, addictive, inescapable glow of a screen. Screens are everywhere in our life, not in the least when we read and write (and blog).
Today, write a poem about/against/in homage to the screens in your life.

Try using today’s form and/or device in the service of your verse.

Today’s form: Haiku

The structure of haiku is preset for you: three lines containing five, seven, and five syllables, respectively (or, in more modern haiku, three lines following the long-short-long pattern):

first line goes here.

The second one is longer.

Then it’s short again.

Today’s device, alliteration, is all about using the same consonant multiple times in close proximity: think “Rudolph the red-nosed reindeer,” or “Take me down to the Paradise City where the grass is green and the girls are pretty” (thanks, Axl!).

32 thoughts on “My Life, My Screen

    1. I was never into writing fiction nor poem before this…Haha! But I’ve learnt a lot and still learning. I wish I can learn the right technique in writing poem through this course.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That was a familiar sight! Haha! 😀 Writing poem is so much harder than fiction! 1st lesson, I’m already struggling. Have to persevere till last lesson. Aja! 💪🏻

        Like

I'd love to hear from you...

