Posted in Writing 101

Overcoming Fear by Impressive Styles Parenting

transform-fear-into-action

Fear has been correctly identified with the acrostic False Evidence Appearing Real. The truth is that if we think something is to be feared, that perception becomes the cruelest form of reality.

A second-grade boy was overheard saying, “It’s easy to be brave when you’re not scared.” By the same token, it’s easy to talk about how to overcome fear when you have little to be afraid of. Fear is certainly real for some people and all of us face a fear of something – maybe it’s  poverty, divorce, rejection, death, failure, speaking in public, or being laughed at.

How do we overcome fear? First, we must learn to examine our fears. Giving a speech is the number one fear in our country, according to Reader’s Digest. (It’s also a tremendous confidence-builder.) If that’s your fear, ask yourself a few questions:

1) Why am I afraid to make a speech?
2) Is it because I’am afraid of being rejected?
3) If so, do I think I’ll be rejected?
4) Do I believe what I’m about to say?
5) Is my speech worth giving?
6) Am I proud of the comments I’m about to make?

(to be continued… here)

©2015 Impressive Styles Parenting by FOS NUS. All Rights Reserved.


The above is an extract from Impressive Styles Parenting by FOS NUS. Many thanks to FOS NUS for allowing me to feature his post on Parenting. Do pay him a visit @ http://www.impressivestylesparenting.blogspot.sg/, you’ll surely benefit from his sharing.


In response to Writing 101, Day 19: Feature a Guest.

8 thoughts on “Overcoming Fear by Impressive Styles Parenting

  1. Love your post. When I was starting up my gift basket business, I was afraid. My husband told me “the only thing that is stopping you is fear. Fear stops us from doing things we want to do, don’t fear, fear”. So after thinking about what I was fearing, it was fear. I opened my business, loved it. But unfortunately, I had to give it up when my daughter get sick.
    Lynne

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you...

