Posted in Short Story, Writing 101

A story in a single image

Writing 101, Day 4: A story in a single image

Images — including photographs and works of art — can also act as starting points for stories, essays, poems, and personal musings. For this exercise, use one of the images above as the creative spark for today’s post. You might use it as the setting for a story or poem, write about how it makes you feel, or describe a memory conjured by it.

If you aren’t inspired by these photos, visit Unsplash.com, a great site for free images.

I’ve chosen these 3 images because “they” have something to say!

squirrel

Oh no! It’s the last acorn! I have to get to it before Sammie does.

I just need to get this last one, then I’ll be the champion!

Oh, how I hate the Annual Acorn Search Competition. I haven’t had a proper meal, nor a good night sleep since the whole event started. Sammie was the champion last year. I was only one acorn under her.

Now, this is my chance! Wish me luck!

Ready! Get set! GO!

 

seal

Are you done yet? I’ve been sitting in this pose for an hour!

I’m beginning to feel the numbness! How much longer will you take?

Is it that difficult to paint me?

Ok! Ok! I’ll keep my mouth shut! But pleasssseee…paint faster! You own me a full body massage after this, promise?

 

dog

Mommy, I want to go home!

I’ve been smiling for the whole day! You’ve taken more than a hundred shots of me.

I know I am cute. I know I look lovely. I know you love me very much and couldn’t get enough of my cuteness.

But…I am sleepy…I want to take my nap nap…please?

One last shot…just one last one, please? I promise I won’t sleep on your bed tonight! Promise! (keeping my paws crossed 😉 )

 

© 2015 Fun Simplicity. All Rights Reserved.

20 thoughts on “A story in a single image

I'd love to hear from you...

