Posted in FFfAW, Flash Fiction, Short Story, Writing Challenge

Friends forever or never?

Photo by Louise with The Storyteller's Abode
Photo by Louise @ The Storyteller’s Abode

 

I was excited when I first arrived at the newly built station a decade ago. Everyone was thrilled to board me because I was new. I was the first steam engine!

Everyday, I wake up before everyone comes to work and only rest when everyone else is fast asleep.

Rain or shine, I work non-stop.

I was afraid of the loud thunder, but I persevered because Paul was always there for me. He was the first to greet me every morning, and the last to say good-bye.

Yesterday, I was decorated with balloons and banners. It was Paul’s wedding! I was proud to be the host. It was a joyous occasion.ย  I was happy for him.

This morning, I woke up extremely early, eager to greet the newly wed. But I didn’t see Paul! Instead it was the new train engineer, James, who greeted me. James said Paul had resigned and yesterday was his last.

Paul didn’t bid me farewell. He didn’t feel the need to.

I am just a … steam engine.

(173 words)

ยฉ 2015 Fun Simplicity. All Rights Reserved.


My 1st submission for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, Challenge #29. Thank you, Priceless Joy for the prompt.

22 thoughts on “Friends forever or never?

  1. It’s a beautiful tale with a smooth flow. I love the ending and this is my favorite sentence
    “Paul didnโ€™t bid me farewell. He didnโ€™t feel the need to”
    Welcome to Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sad tale of a humanized steam train!! Who would think they would have feelings? Great story and I feel badly for the train as Paul was very important to him. Nicely done and thank you for participating in the Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice. Your story reminded me a bit of Charlie the Choo-Choo story in Stephen’s King Dark Tower series (book 3 – The Wastelands) Although your train seems much nicer. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Not really. It’s a King book, which is kind of fantasy/horror and, in the book, he mentions a children classic that apparently doesn’t really exist Charlie the Choo Choo. But the story is told as part of his own story, when one of the characters buys the book and reads it. But the Charlie in his book has a spooky apearance, according fo the characters, although in the story it seems a nice one.

        Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you...

