Posted in Parenting, Thoughts

SLAP Me!

Have you ever jumped into conclusion without finding out the truth? I believed that many of us are guilty of this. When a younger child cried, we assumed that the older one bullied him. Many a times, we only believe what we see now instead of listening to any explanation or investigate what exactly happened. This is not “healthy” in a family. Therefore, I have been reminding myself to do these:

  1. Seek before jumping into conclusion;
  2. Listen before scolding;
  3. Ask before blaming;
  4. Pause before blurting out hurtful words;

SLAP! I didn’t mean to literally slap myself awake, but rather to “slap” myself before I say or do anything that I will regret later.

PS: I conceptualised SLAP to make myself a better parent. It wasn’t derived from any book.

I'd love to hear from you...

